Faculty

bwa Barry Ache
Distinguished Professor, Whitney Faculty

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4034
  • Email: bwa@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Chemical Senses: Olfaction
cbaer Charles Baer
Associate Professor

  • Office: 621 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-3550
  • Email: cbaer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Population and Evolutionary Genetics
  • Website: The Baer Lab
bbarbazuk William (Brad) Barbazuk
Associate Professor, Graduate Coordinator

  • Office: 407 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8624
  • Email: bbarbazuk@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational, Comparative and Functional Genomics
Michael Barfield
Assistant Scientist

  • Office: 111 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6914
  • Email: mjb01@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Theoretical ecology
bjorndal Karen Bjorndal
Distinguished Professor

  • Office: 320 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1126
  • Email: bjorndal@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Nutritional ecology; ecology of sea turtles
abolten Alan Bolten
Professor, Research Assistant

  • Office: 313 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-5194
  • Email: abolten@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology and conservation of sea turtles
ebraun68 Edward Braun
Associate Professor

  • Office: 514 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-1124
  • Email: ebraun68@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary and comparative genomics
gburleigh John (Gordon) Burleigh
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 218 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2776
  • Email: gburleigh@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational phylogenetics
schen Sixue Chen
Associate Professor, Director of Proteomics Facility

  • Office: 438 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8330
  • Email: schen@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant signaling, metabolism and molecular networks
  • Website: The Chen Lab
kchoe Keith Choe
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 321 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0139
  • Email: kchoe@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Animal Physiology and Molecular Biology
  • Website: Choe Lab
christine.davis Christine Davis
Lecturer, Undergraduate Coordinator

  • Office: 614 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-1156
  • Email: christine.davis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant diversity, evolution, and systematics; bryology; plant-fungal symbioses
  • Website: Christine Davis
ngerlach Nicole Gerlach
Lecturer

  • Office: 520 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2419
  • Email: ngerlach@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; mating behavior and sexual selection
gillooly Jamie Gillooly
Associate Professor

  • Office: 411 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2743
  • Email: gillooly@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Physiological ecology, community and ecosystem ecology, macroecology
magitz Matt Gitzendanner
Associate Scientist

  • Office: 301 C Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1960
  • Email: magitz@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Population genetics
harmon Alice Harmon
Professor

  • Office: 621 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9169
  • Email: harmon@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular Biologist Signal Transduction
bahauser Bernard Hauser
Associate Professor

  • Office: 516A Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-0009
  • Email: bahauser@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Reproductive biology
rdholt Robert Holt
Eminent Scholar

  • Office: 111 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6917
  • Email: rdholt@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Theoretical Ecology
djulian David Julian
Associate Professor

  • Office: 123 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-5878
  • Email: djulian@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Comparative and ecological physiology
rkimball Rebecca Kimball
Professor

  • Office: 528 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-3737
  • Email: rkimball@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; Molecular phylogenetics
jliao James Liao
Assistant Professor, Whitney Faculty

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4011
  • Email: jliao@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Biomechanics and neurobiology of fish behavior
jlichstein Jeremy Lichstein
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 317 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1540
  • Email: jlichstein@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Forest dynamics; biodiversity; carbon cycle; climate change
hblill Harvey Lillywhite
Professor

  • Office: 122 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1101
  • Email: hblill@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Physiology and ecology of reptiles and amphibians
malcmaden Malcolm Maden
Professor

  • Office: 326 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-5856
  • Email: malcmaden@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental and Regenerative Biology
mqmartin Mark Martindale
Professor, Director of the Whitney Laboratory

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4051
  • Email: mqmartin@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Experimental Embryology and Evo-Devo
stuartmcdaniel Stuart McDaniel
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 213 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0123
  • Email: stuartmcdaniel@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary genetics
miyamoto Michael Miyamoto
Professor

  • Office: 311 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-3275
  • Email: miyamoto@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular systematics and evolution
oppenhe David Oppenheimer
Associate Professor

  • Office: 115 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0121
  • Email: oppenhe@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Cell biology, genetics, and plant development
  • Website: The Oppenheimer Lab
tmp Todd Palmer
Associate Professor

  • Office: 411 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6357
  • Email: tmp@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Mutualism, tropical ecology; community ecology; plant-animal interactions
  • Website: The Palmer Lab
josemi José Miguel Ponciano
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 309 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2784
  • Email: josemi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Stochastic processes in ecology, evolution and population genetics
  • Webpage: http://people.clas.ufl.edu/josemi/
T Juliet Pulliam
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 617A Bartram and EPI
  • Phone: (352) 273-6684
  • Email: pulliam@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Infectious disease dynamics, viral host jumps, quantitative ecology
  • Website: Pulliam Lab
fep Francis E. (Jack) Putz
Professor

  • Office: 209 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1486
  • Email: fep@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology
jfryan Joseph Ryan
Assistant Professor, Whitney Faculty

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4046
  • Email: jfryan@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary Genomics using experimental biology and bioinformatic techniques to address questions at the intersection of evolutionary biology, developmental biology, and ecology
eseaver Elaine Seaver
Professor, Whitney Faculty

  • Office: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience Room 27
  • Phone: (904) 461-4030
  • Email: seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution and development of marine invertebrates
emilysessa Emily Sessa
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 521A Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1098
  • Email: emilysessa@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant systematics; genomics; reticulate evolution; physiological ecology
bsmocoviti Vassiliki (Betty) Smocovitis
Professor

  • Office: 617 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9647
  • Email: bsmocovi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary theory, systematics and history
dsoltis Doug Soltis
Distinguished Professor

  • Location: Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1963
  • Email: dsoltis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics
wespencer William (Bill) Spencer
Lecturer, Undergraduate Coordinator for UF Biology Major

  • Office: 214B Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0115
  • Email: wespencer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Applied wetland ecology
stmary Colette St. Mary
Associate Professor & Associate Chair

  • Office: 610 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1636
  • Email: stmary@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; sexual selection
kvliet Kent Vliet
Coordinator of Laboratories

  • Office: 208 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-8130
  • Email: kvliet@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Crocodilian physiology and ecology
Marta Wayne
Professor & Department Chair

  • Office: 427 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9925
  • Email: mlwayne@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Host-parasite coevolution; evolutionary genetics and genomics
  • Website: The Wayne Lab
top »