Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


A

Top of page ↑
bwa Barry Ache
Whitney Faculty
Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience and Biology – Director of the University of Florida Center for Smell and Taste

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4034
  • Email: bwa@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Chemical Senses: Olfaction
  • Webpage: Ache Laboratory Page

B

Top of page ↑
cbaer Charles Baer
Associate Professor

  • Office: 621 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-3550
  • Email: cbaer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Population and Evolutionary Genetics
  • Website: The Baer Lab
  • Profile: Charles F. Baer
William (Brad) Barbazuk
Professor

  • Office: 407 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8624
  • Email: bbarbazuk@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational, Comparative and Functional Genomics
  • Profile: William (Brad) Barbazuk
Michael Barfield
Assistant Scientist

  • Office: 111 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6914
  • Email: mjb01@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Theoretical ecology
  • Webpage: Michael Barfield
bjorndal Karen Bjorndal
Distinguished Professor

David C. Blackburn
Museum Faculty
Associate Curator of Amphibians and Reptiles

  • Office: 262 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1943
  • Email: dblackburn@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Herpetology, Systematics, Africa
  • Website: The Blackburn Lab
  • Profile: Dr. David C. Blackburn
jon-bloch_profile Jonathan Bloch
Museum Faculty
Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology

  • Office: 222 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1938
  • Email: jbloch@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate paleontology
  • Profile: Dr. Jonathan I. Bloch
abolten Alan Bolten
Professor – Research Assistant

Edward Braun
Professor

  • Office: 514 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-1124
  • Email: ebraun68@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary and comparative genomics
  • Webpage: Edward L. Braun
gburleigh John (Gordon) Burleigh
Associate Professor – Graduate Coordinator

  • Office: 218 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2776
  • Email: gburleigh@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational phylogenetics

C

Top of page ↑
ncellinese Nico Cellinese
Museum Faculty
Associate Curator, Herbarium & Informatics

  • Office: 354 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1979
  • Email: ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: My research focuses on two main general areas:
    1. Taxonomy, systematics, and biogeography
    2. Biodiversity informatics and phyloinformatics.
  • Profile: Dr. Nico Cellinese
Sixue Chen
Professor – Director of Proteomics Facility

  • Office: 438 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8330
  • Email: schen@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant signaling, metabolism and molecular networks
  • Website: The Chen Lab
  • Profile: Sixue Chen
kchoe Keith Choe
Associate Professor

  • Office: 321 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0139
  • Email: kchoe@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Animal Physiology and Molecular Biology
  • Department profile: Keith Choe, Ph.D.
  • Website: The Choe Lab
Martin Cohn
Professor – Joint Faculty

  • Office: 406 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8099
  • Email: mjcohn@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental biology and evolution
  • Website: The Cohn Laboratory
Derek Cummings Derek Cummings
Professor – Preeminent Scholar

  • Office: 422 Carr Hall & 106 Emerging Pathogens Institute
  • Phone: (352) 273-6555
  • Email: datc@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Infectious Disease Dynamics, Disease Ecology, Population Biology
  • Website: Currently Under Construction

D

Top of page ↑
christine.davis Christine Davis
Senior Lecturer – Undergraduate Coordinator

  • Office: 614 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-1156
  • Email: christine.davis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant diversity, evolution, and systematics; bryology; plant-fungal symbioses
  • Profile: E. Christine Davis
  • Website: Christine Davis
Norman A. Douglas
Lecturer

  • Office: 618A Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 294-2842
  • Email: nadouglas@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant systematics & phylogeography, edaphic endemism, and conservation genetics
  • Website: Norman A. Douglas

E

F

G

Top of page ↑
ngerlach Nicole Gerlach
Lecturer

  • Office: 520 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2419
  • Email: ngerlach@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; mating behavior and sexual selection
Jamie Gillooly
Associate Professor

  • Office: 409 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2743
  • Email: gillooly@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Physiological ecology, community and ecosystem ecology, macroecology
  • Website: Gillooly Lab
Matt Gitzendanner
Scientist & Collection Manager – Joint Museum Faculty

  • Office: 301 C Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1960
  • Email: magitz@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Population genetics
  • Website: Gitzendanner Lab
Robert Guralnick
Associate Curator of Biodiversity Informatics

  • Office: 358 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1980
  • Email: rguralnick@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Research Interests: Biodiversity focusing on spatiotemporal changes in genetic and species diversity
  • Website: The Guralnick Lab

H

Top of page ↑
harmon Alice Harmon
Professor

  • Office: 621 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9169
  • Email: harmon@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular Biologist Signal Transduction
  • Profile: Alice Harmon
Bernard Hauser
Associate Professor

  • Office: 516A Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-0009
  • Email: bahauser@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Reproductive biology
  • Profile: Bernard Hauser
Andrew Hill
Adjunct Lecturer

  • Office: 123 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 294 0532
  • Email: andrew.hill@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Neuroscience, Behavior, Developmental toxicology
Tom Hladish
Research Assistant Scientist

  • Office: 420 Carr Hall
  • Email: tjhladish@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational epidemiology, stochastic modeling, dengue and influenza dynamics
rdholt Robert Holt
Eminent Scholar & Arthur R. Marshall Jr. Chair in Ecology

  • Office: 111 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6917
  • Email: rdholt@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Theoretical Ecology

I

J

Top of page ↑
dsjones Douglas Jones
Professor & Director – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 291 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1901
  • Email: dsjones@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Invertebrate paleontology
David Julian
Associate Professor

  • Office: 123 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-5878
  • Email: djulian@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Comparative and ecological physiology
  • Website: The Julian Lab
  • Profile: David Julian

K

Top of page ↑
kawahara Akito Kawahara
Assistant Curator – Joint Museum Faculty

  • Office: McGuire Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-2018
  • Email: kawahara@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogenomics, systematics, evolution and behavior of insects
  • Website: The Kawahara Lab
rkimball Rebecca Kimball
Professor

  • Office: 528 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-3737
  • Email: rkimball@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; Molecular phylogenetics
  • Website: Rebecca T Kimball
kowalewski Michal Kowalewski
Professor, Curator & Chair – Museum Faculty

  • Office: Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1944
  • Email: kowalewski@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Paleoecology, taphonomy, geochronology, stratigraphy, quantitative methods, marine ecology, conservation biology, mollusks, brachiopods

L

Top of page ↑
jliao James Liao
Associate Professor – Joint Whitney Faculty

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4011
  • Email: jliao@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Biomechanics and neurobiology of fish behavior
  • Website: Liao Lab
jlichstein Jeremy Lichstein
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 317 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1540
  • Email: jlichstein@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Forest dynamics; biodiversity; carbon cycle; climate change
  • Website: Lichstein Lab
hblill Harvey Lillywhite
Professor

  • Office: 122 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1101
  • Email: hblill@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Physiology and ecology of reptiles and amphibians
plinser Paul Linser
Professor – Joint Whitney Faculty

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4036
  • Email: pjl@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental and Molecular Biology of Disease Vector Arthropods

M

Top of page ↑
Bruce MacFadden
Distinguished Professor & Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 218 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1937
  • Email: bmacfadd@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate paleontology
Malcolm Maden
Professor

  • Office: 326 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-5856
  • Email: malcmaden@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental and Regenerative Biology
  • Profile: Malcolm Maden
Steven Manchester
Curator of Paleobotany – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 214 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1935
  • Email: steven@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant paleontology
mqmartin Mark Martindale
Professor – Director of the Whitney Laboratory

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4051
  • Email: mqmartin@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Experimental Embryology and Evo-Devo
stuartmcdaniel Stuart McDaniel
Associate Professor

  • Office: 213 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0123
  • Email: stuartmcdaniel@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary genetics
  • Website: McDaniel Lab
miyamoto Michael Miyamoto
Professor

  • Office: 311 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-3275
  • Email: miyamoto@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular systematics and evolution
  • Webpage: Michael Masao Miyamoto
Teresa Mutahi
Lecturer & Undergraduate Coordinator for the UF Biology Major

  • Office: 214B Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0115
  • Email: tmutahi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _
  • Website: UF Biology Major

N

O

Top of page ↑
oppenhe David Oppenheimer
Associate Professor & Associate Chair

  • Office: 115 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0121
  • Email: oppenhe@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Cell biology, genetics, and plant development
  • Website: The Oppenheimer Lab

P

Top of page ↑
lpage1 Larry Page
Curator of Fishes & Director of iDigBio – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 282 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1952
  • Email: lpage@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ichthyology
Todd Palmer
Associate Professor

  • Office: 411 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6357
  • Email: tmp@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Mutualism, tropical ecology; community ecology; plant-animal interactions
  • Website: The Palmer Lab
Gustav Paulay
Curator of Marine Malacology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 278 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1948
  • Email: paulay@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Invertebrate evolution & biogeography
  • FLMNH Profile: Gustav Paulay | Home
José Miguel Ponciano
Associate Professor

  • Office: 309 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2784
  • Email: josemi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Stochastic processes in ecology, evolution and population genetics
  • Webpage: José Miguel Ponciano Castellanos
T Juliet Pulliam
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 617A Bartram Hall and Emerging Pathogens Institute
  • Phone: (352) 273-6684
  • Email: pulliam@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Infectious disease dynamics, viral host jumps, quantitative ecology
  • Website: Pulliam Lab
fep Francis E. (Jack) Putz
Distinguished Professor

  • Office: 209 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1486
  • Email: fep@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Conservation Biology, Tropical Forestry, Fire Ecology, Restoration Ecology, Economic Botany, Natural Resource Economics, Plant Ecology, Botany, Plant Biomechanics
  • Webpage: Francis E. (Jack) Putz

Q

R

Top of page ↑
David Reed
Curator of Mammals – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 350 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1971
  • Email: dreed@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Mammalogy; Host-parasite coevolution
skrobins Scott Robinson
Eminent Scholar & Katharine Ordway Professor of Ecosystem Conservation – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 305 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1965
  • Email: srobinson@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Conservation biology; Avian ecology
jfryan Joseph Ryan
Assistant Professor – Whitney Faculty

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4046
  • Email: jfryan@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary Genomics using experimental biology and bioinformatic techniques to address questions at the intersection of evolutionary biology, developmental biology, and ecology

S

Top of page ↑
Christine E. Schnitzler
Assistant Professor – Whitney Faculty

  • Office: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience · St. Augustine, FL
  • Phone: (904) 461-4050
  • Email: christine.schnitzler@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary, comparative, and functional genomics; stem cells and regeneration
  • Website: Christine E. Schnitzler, Ph.D.
Elaine Seaver
Professor – Whitney Faculty

  • Office: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience Room 27
  • Phone: (904) 461-4030
  • Email: seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution and development of marine invertebrates
emilysessa Emily Sessa
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 521A Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1098
  • Email: emilysessa@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant systematics; genomics; reticulate evolution; physiological ecology
  • Website: The Sessa Lab
bsmocoviti Vassiliki (Betty) Smocovitis
Professor

  • Office: 617 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9647
  • Email: bsmocovi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary theory, systematics, and history
  • Website: Vassiliki Betty Smocovitis
dsoltis Doug Soltis
Distinguished Professor

  • Location: Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1963
  • Email: dsoltis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics
psoltis Pam Soltis
Distinguished Professor & Curator – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 301 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1964
  • Email: psoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Polyploidy and plant phylogenetics
Colette St. Mary
Professor

  • Office: 610 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1107
  • Email: stmary@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; sexual selection
steadman David Steadman
Curator of Ornithology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 320 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1968 or (352) 273-1969
  • Email: dws@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian ecology and paleoecology

T

Top of page ↑
snailz Fred Thompson
Curator of Non-marine Malacology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 254 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1943
  • Email: fgt@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematica and ecology of land and freshwater mollusks

U

V

Top of page ↑
kvliet Kent Vliet
Coordinator of Laboratories

W

Top of page ↑
Marta Wayne
Professor & Department Chair

  • Office: 427 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9925
  • Email: mlwayne@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Host-parasite coevolution; evolutionary genetics and genomics
  • Profile: Marta L. Wayne
  • Website: Under construction – coming soon
Norris Williams Norris Williams
Curator & Keeper of the Herbarium – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 374 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1982
  • Email: orchid@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics and evolution of Orchidaceae, with particular emphasis on Neotropical groups

X

Y

Z

Top of page ↑