Faculty

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


A

bwa Barry W. Ache
Whitney Faculty
Distinguished Professor of Biology and Neuroscience

  • Locations:
    • Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
    • LG-101D McKnight Brain Institute
  • Phones:
    • (904) 461-4034
    • (352) 294-5363
  • Email: bwa@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Chemical Senses: Olfaction
  • Whitney page: Barry W. Ache, Ph.D.

Top of page ↑

B

Charles holding a pike caught in Toronto Charles Baer
Associate Professor

  • Office: 621 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-3550
  • Email: cbaer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Population and Evolutionary Genetics
  • Website: The Baer Lab
  • Profile: Charles F. Baer

Top of page ↑

William (Brad) Barbazuk
Professor

  • Office: 407 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8624
  • Email: bbarbazuk@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational, Comparative and Functional Genomics
  • Profile: William (Brad) Barbazuk

Top of page ↑

Michael Barfield
Assistant Scientist

  • Office: 111 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6914
  • Email: mjb01@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Theoretical ecology
  • Webpage: Michael Barfield

Top of page ↑

bjorndal Karen Bjorndal
Distinguished Professor

Top of page ↑

David C. Blackburn
Museum Faculty
Associate Curator of Amphibians and Reptiles

  • Office: 262 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1943
  • Email: dblackburn@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Herpetology, Systematics, Africa
  • Website: The Blackburn Lab
  • Profile: Dr. David C. Blackburn

Top of page ↑

jon-bloch_profile Jonathan Bloch
Museum Faculty
Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology

  • Office: 222 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1938
  • Email: jbloch@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate paleontology
  • Profile: Dr. Jonathan I. Bloch

Top of page ↑

abolten Alan Bolten
Professor & Research Assistant

Top of page ↑

Edward Braun
Professor

  • Office: 514 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-1124
  • Email: ebraun68@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary and comparative genomics
  • Webpage: Edward L. Braun

Top of page ↑

gburleigh John (Gordon) Burleigh
Associate Professor & Graduate Coordinator

  • Office: 218 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2776
  • Email: gburleigh@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational phylogenetics

Top of page ↑

C

ncellinese Nico Cellinese
Museum Faculty
Associate Curator, Herbarium & Informatics

  • Office: 354 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1979
  • Email: ncellinese@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: My research focuses on two main general areas:
    1. Taxonomy, systematics, and biogeography
    2. Biodiversity informatics and phyloinformatics.
  • Profile: Dr. Nico Cellinese

Top of page ↑

Sixue Chen
Professor – Director of Proteomics Facility

  • Office: 438 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8330
  • Email: schen@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant signaling, metabolism and molecular networks
  • Website: The Chen Lab
  • Profile: Sixue Chen

Top of page ↑

kchoe Keith Choe
Associate Professor

  • Office: 321 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0139
  • Email: kchoe@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Animal Physiology and Molecular Biology
  • Department profile: Keith Choe, Ph.D.
  • Website: The Choe Lab

Top of page ↑

Martin Cohn
Professor – Joint Faculty

  • Office: 406 Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Phone: (352) 273-8099
  • Email: mjcohn@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental biology and evolution
  • Website: The Cohn Laboratory

Top of page ↑

Derek Cummings Derek Cummings
Professor – Preeminent Scholar

  • Office: 422 Carr Hall & 106 Emerging Pathogens Institute
  • Phone: (352) 273-6555
  • Email: datc@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Infectious Disease Dynamics, Disease Ecology, Population Biology
  • Website: Infectious Disease DYNAMICS

Top of page ↑

D

christine.davis Christine Davis
Senior Lecturer

  • Office: 614 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-1156
  • Email: christine.davis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant diversity, evolution, and systematics; bryology; plant-fungal symbioses
  • Profile: E. Christine Davis
  • Website: Christine Davis

Top of page ↑

Norman A. Douglas
Lecturer

  • Office: 618A Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 294-2842
  • Email: nadouglas@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant systematics & phylogeography, edaphic endemism, and conservation genetics
  • Website: Norman A. Douglas

Top of page ↑

E

F

Gareth Fraser
Title

  • Office: TBD, 5th floor Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-4758
  • Email: g.fraser@ufl.edu
  • Interests: EvoDevo
  • Website: TBD

Top of page ↑

G

Stefanie Gazda thumbnail Stefanie K. Gazda
Biology Online Major Coordinator

  • Office: 214A Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0114
  • Email: stefanie.gazda@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Online student engagement, dolphin behavioral and foraging ecology, predator-prey spatial dynamics
  • Website: http://major.biology.ufl.edu/

Top of page ↑

ngerlach Nicole Gerlach
Lecturer – Undergraduate Coordinator

  • Office: 520 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2419
  • Email: ngerlach@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; mating behavior and sexual selection

Top of page ↑

Jamie Gillooly
Associate Professor

  • Office: 409 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2743
  • Email: gillooly@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Physiological ecology, community and ecosystem ecology, macroecology
  • Website: Gillooly Lab

Top of page ↑

Matt Gitzendanner
Joint Museum Faculty
Scientist & Collection Manager

  • Office: 301 C Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1960
  • Email: magitz@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Population genetics
  • Website: Gitzendanner Lab

Top of page ↑

Robert Guralnick
Museum Faculty
Associate Curator of Biodiversity Informatics

  • Office: 358 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1980
  • Email: rguralnick@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Research Interests: Biodiversity focusing on spatiotemporal changes in genetic and species diversity
  • Website: The Guralnick Lab

Top of page ↑

H

harmon Alice Harmon
Professor

  • Office: 621 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9169
  • Email: harmon@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular Biologist Signal Transduction
  • Profile: Alice Harmon

Top of page ↑

Bernard Hauser
Associate Professor

  • Office: 516A Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-0009
  • Email: bahauser@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Reproductive biology
  • Profile: Bernard Hauser

Top of page ↑

Andrew Hill
Adjunct Lecturer

  • Office: 123 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 294 0532
  • Email: andrew.hill@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Neuroscience, Behavior, Developmental toxicology

Top of page ↑

Tom Hladish
Research Assistant Scientist

  • Office: 617A Bartram Hall
  • Email: tjhladish@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Computational epidemiology, stochastic modeling, dengue and influenza dynamics

Top of page ↑

rdholt Robert Holt
Eminent Scholar & Arthur R. Marshall Jr. Chair in Ecology

  • Office: 111 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6917
  • Email: rdholt@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Theoretical Ecology

Top of page ↑

I

J

dsjones Douglas Jones
Professor & Director – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 291 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1901
  • Email: dsjones@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Invertebrate paleontology

Top of page ↑

David Julian
Associate Professor

  • Office: 123 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-5878
  • Email: djulian@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Comparative and ecological physiology
  • Website: The Julian Lab
  • Profile: David Julian

Top of page ↑

K

kawahara Akito Kawahara
Assistant Curator – Joint Museum Faculty

  • Office: McGuire Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-2018
  • Email: kawahara@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogenomics, systematics, evolution and behavior of insects
  • Website: The Kawahara Lab

Top of page ↑

rkimball Rebecca Kimball
Professor

  • Office: 528 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 846-3737
  • Email: rkimball@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; Molecular phylogenetics
  • Website: Rebecca T Kimball

Top of page ↑

kowalewski Michal Kowalewski
Professor, Curator & Chair – Museum Faculty

  • Office: Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1944
  • Email: kowalewski@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Paleoecology, taphonomy, geochronology, stratigraphy, quantitative methods, marine ecology, conservation biology, mollusks, brachiopods

Top of page ↑

L

Mathew Leibold Mathew Leibold
Professor – Preeminent Scholar

  • Office: 627 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 294-7544
  • Email: mleibold@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Community ecology, aquatic ecology
  • Website: LEIBOLD LAB

Top of page ↑

jliao James Liao
Joint Whitney Faculty
Associate Professor of Biology – UF Term Professor 2016-2019

    • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
    • Phone: (904) 461-4011
    • Email: jliao@whitney.ufl.edu
    • Interests: Biomechanics and neurobiology of fish behavior
    • Website: www.liaolab.com
    • Whitney page: James C. Liao, Ph.D.

Top of page ↑

jlichstein Jeremy Lichstein
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 317 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1540
  • Email: jlichstein@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Forest dynamics; biodiversity; carbon cycle; climate change
  • Website: Lichstein Lab

Top of page ↑

hblill Harvey Lillywhite
Professor

  • Office: 122 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1101
  • Email: hblill@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Physiology and ecology of reptiles and amphibians

Top of page ↑

plinser Paul Linser
Joint Whitney Faculty
Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, Neuroscience, Microbiology and Cell Science, Entomology, and Biology

  • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Phone: (904) 461-4036
  • Email: pjl@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental and Molecular Biology of Disease Vector Arthropods
  • Whitney page: Paul J. Linser, Ph.D.

Top of page ↑

M

Bruce MacFadden
Distinguished Professor & Curator of Vertebrate Paleontology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 218 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1937
  • Email: bmacfadd@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate paleontology

Top of page ↑

Malcolm Maden
Professor

  • Office: 326 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-5856
  • Email: malcmaden@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental and Regenerative Biology
  • Profile: Malcolm Maden

Top of page ↑

Steven Manchester
Curator of Paleobotany – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 214 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1935
  • Email: steven@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant paleontology

Top of page ↑

mqmartin Mark Martindale
Whitney Faculty
Professor of Biology – Director of the Whitney Laboratory

    • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
    • Phone: (904) 461-4051
    • Email: mqmartin@whitney.ufl.edu
    • Interests: Experimental Embryology and Evo-Devo
    • Whitney page: Mark Q. Martindale, Ph.D.

Top of page ↑

Stuart McDaniel
Associate Professor

  • Office: 213 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0123
  • Email: stuartmcdaniel@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary genetics
  • Website: McDaniel Lab

Top of page ↑

miyamoto Michael Miyamoto
Professor

  • Office: 311 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-3275
  • Email: miyamoto@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular systematics and evolution
  • Webpage: Michael Masao Miyamoto

Top of page ↑

Teresa Mutahi
Lecturer & Undergraduate Coordinator for the UF Biology Major

  • Office: 214B Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0115
  • Email: tmutahi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _
  • Website: UF Biology Major

Top of page ↑

N

O

oppenhe David Oppenheimer
Associate Professor & Associate Chair

  • Office: 115 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-0121
  • Email: oppenhe@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Cell biology, genetics, and plant development
  • Website: The Oppenheimer Lab

Top of page ↑

P

lpage1 Larry Page
Curator of Fishes & Director of iDigBio – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 282 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1952
  • Email: lpage@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ichthyology

Top of page ↑

Todd Palmer
Associate Professor

  • Office: 411 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-6357
  • Email: tmp@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Mutualism, tropical ecology; community ecology; plant-animal interactions
  • Website: The Palmer Lab

Top of page ↑

Gustav Paulay
Curator of Marine Malacology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 278 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1948
  • Email: paulay@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Invertebrate evolution & biogeography
  • FLMNH Profile: Gustav Paulay | Home

Top of page ↑

José Miguel Ponciano
Associate Professor

  • Office: 309 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-2784
  • Email: josemi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Stochastic processes in ecology, evolution and population genetics
  • Webpage: José Miguel Ponciano Castellanos

Top of page ↑

fep Francis E. (Jack) Putz
Distinguished Professor

  • Office: 209 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1486
  • Email: fep@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Conservation Biology, Tropical Forestry, Fire Ecology, Restoration Ecology, Economic Botany, Natural Resource Economics, Plant Ecology, Botany, Plant Biomechanics
  • Webpage: Francis E. (Jack) Putz

Top of page ↑

Q

R

David Reed
Curator of Mammals – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 350 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1971
  • Email: dreed@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Mammalogy; Host-parasite coevolution

Top of page ↑

skrobins Scott Robinson
Eminent Scholar & Katharine Ordway Professor of Ecosystem Conservation – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 305 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1965
  • Email: srobinson@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Conservation biology; Avian ecology

Top of page ↑

jfryan Joseph Ryan
Whitney Faculty
Assistant Professor of Biology

    • Location: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
    • Phone: (904) 461-4046
    • Email: jfryan@ufl.edu
    • Interests: Evolutionary Genomics using experimental biology and bioinformatic techniques to address questions at the intersection of evolutionary biology, developmental biology, and ecology
    • Whitney page: Joseph F. Ryan, Ph.D.

Top of page ↑

S

Kristen Sauby
Adjunct Lecturer

  • Office: 110 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1040
  • Email: ksauby@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Spatial, population, and community ecology, and applications of ecological theory, sampling design, and statistical analysis to management and conservation of populations and communities

Top of page ↑

Christine E. Schnitzler
Whitney Faculty
Assistant Professor of Biology

  • Office: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience · St. Augustine, FL
  • Phone: (904) 461-4050
  • Email: christine.schnitzler@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary, comparative, and functional genomics; stem cells and regeneration
  • Whitney page: Christine E. Schnitzler, Ph.D.

Top of page ↑

Elaine Seaver
Whitney Faculty
Professor of Biology

  • Office: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience Room 27
  • Phone: (904) 461-4030
  • Email: seaver@whitney.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution and development of marine invertebrates
  • Whitney page: Elaine C. Seaver, Ph.D.

Top of page ↑

emilysessa Emily Sessa
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 521A Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1098
  • Email: emilysessa@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant systematics; genomics; reticulate evolution; physiological ecology
  • Website: The Sessa Lab

Top of page ↑

bsmocoviti Vassiliki (Betty) Smocovitis
Professor

  • Office: 617 Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9647
  • Email: bsmocovi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary theory, systematics, and history
  • Website: Vassiliki Betty Smocovitis

Top of page ↑

dsoltis Doug Soltis
Distinguished Professor

  • Location: Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1963
  • Email: dsoltis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics

Top of page ↑

psoltis Pam Soltis
Distinguished Professor & Curator – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 301 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1964
  • Email: psoltis@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Polyploidy and plant phylogenetics

Top of page ↑

Colette St. Mary
Professor

  • Office: 610 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-1107
  • Email: stmary@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology; sexual selection

Top of page ↑

steadman David Steadman
Curator of Ornithology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 320 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1968 or (352) 273-1969
  • Email: dws@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian ecology and paleoecology

Top of page ↑

T

snailz Fred Thompson
Curator of Non-marine Malacology – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 254 Dickinson Hall
  • Phone: (352) 273-1943
  • Email: fgt@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematica and ecology of land and freshwater mollusks

Top of page ↑

U

V

Hannah Vander Zanden
Assistant Professor

  • Office: 322B Carr Hall
  • Phone: (352) 294-0438
  • Email: hvz@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Animal ecology, stable isotope ecology
  • Website: Vander Zanden Lab

Top of page ↑

kvliet Kent Vliet
Coordinator of Laboratories

Top of page ↑

W

Marta Wayne
Professor & Department Chair

  • Office: 427 Bartram Hall
  • Phone: (352) 392-9925
  • Email: mlwayne@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Host-parasite coevolution; evolutionary genetics and genomics
  • Profile: Marta L. Wayne
  • Website: Under construction – coming soon

Top of page ↑

Norris Williams Norris Williams
Curator & Keeper of the Herbarium – Museum Faculty

  • Office: 374 Dickinson Hall, Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Phone: (352) 273-1982
  • Email: orchid@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics and evolution of Orchidaceae, with particular emphasis on Neotropical groups

Top of page ↑

X

Y

Z

Top of page ↑