Graduate Students

Sarah AllenSarah Allen
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: sa4393@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Paleobotany
  • Advisor: Steven Manchester
Ian AuspreyIan Ausprey
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: iausprey@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian ecology, tropical biology, landscape ecology, conservation biology
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Meghan BentzMeghan Bentz
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: mbentz314@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Host-Parasite interactions, behavioral and evolutionary ecology
  • Advisor: Marta Wayne
Gabriela BlohmGabriela Blohm
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 309 Carr Hall
  • Email: gblohm@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology and Evolution of Virulence
  • Advisor: Jose Miguel Ponciano
Lucas BoatwrightLucas Boatwright
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: lboat@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: William Barbazuk
Nicole BotteriNicole Botteri
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: Carr Hall
  • Email: nbotteri@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental and reproductive physiology
  • Advisor: Louis Guillette
Anya BrownAnya Brown
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: anyabrown@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Coral reef ecology, community ecology
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Teresa BryanTeresa Bryan
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: kuba@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Reproductive physiology
  • Advisor: Louis Guillette
vcannataroVincent Cannataro
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 611A Bartram Hall
  • Email: vcannataro@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution, Multicellularity, and Cancer
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Sarah CareySarah Carey
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: sarah.carey@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary genetics
  • Advisor: Stuart McDaniel
Nathan CatlinNathan Catlin
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: ncatlin@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Comparative genomics, phylogenomics, polyploidy
  • Advisor: William Barbazuk
Tania ChavarriaTania Chavarria
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: taniachavarria79@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Zoology
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
Stephanie CinkovichStephanie Cinkovich
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 617 Bartram Hall
  • Email: scinkovich@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vector-borne and zoonotic diseases
  • Advisor: Juliet Pulliam
Paul CoroginPaul Corogin
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 385J Dickinson Hall
  • Email: pcorogin@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics of vascular plants; biology of the genus Sideroxylon in North America
  • Advisor: Walter Judd
Photo not availableTim Crombie
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 123 Bartram Hall
  • Email: tcrombie@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Julian
Andrew CrowlAndrew Crowl
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: andy.crowl@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant phylogenetics and Mediterranean biogeography
  • Advisor: Nicoletta Cellinese
Katrina CuddyKatrina Cuddy
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: kkcuddy@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Oppenheimer
Zachary EmbertsZachary Emberts
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: emberts@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Nathaniel EvansNathaniel Evans
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: evansnat@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary history of marine invertebrates, especially crustaceans. Systematics, biogeography, speciation and morphological evolution
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Pauline FontainePauline Fontaine
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 321 Bartram Hall
  • Email: pfontaine@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Animal Biology
  • Advisor: Keith Choe
Nicolas GarciaNicolas Garcia
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: nicogarcia@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Michael GilMichael Gil
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 620B Bartram Hall
  • Email: m.gil@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Community and landscape ecology, biological conservation
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Grant GoddenGrant Godden
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Juan Pablo Gomez-EcheverriJuan Pablo Gomez-Echeverri
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: jugomez@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Lauren GonzalezLauren Gonzalez
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: laurenagonzalez@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogenetics and historical biogeography
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Harlan GoughHarlan Gough
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: goughh@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary biology and population genetics
  • Advisor: David Reed
Marissa GredlerMarissa Gredler
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: mlgredler@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental genetics and morphogenesis
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Travis GuyTravis Guy
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: 411 Carr Hall
  • Email: tguy@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Community ecology, anthropogenic effects on ecosystems, and conservation management
  • Advisor: Todd Palmer
Elizabeth HammanElizabeth Hamman
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: hamman@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Interactions of stressors, predator prey dynamics, and pattern formation
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Kin-Lan HanKin-Lan Han
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: hankin@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian phylogenetics, evolution, conservation
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
Arianna HarringtonArianna Harrington
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: aharrington@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Paleontology, comparative anatomy, evolutionary morphology
  • Advisor: Jonathan Bloch
Photo not availableJames Heaney
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: jheaney@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Photo not availableAna Herrera
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: amherrer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Richard HodelRichard Hodel
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 353 Dickinson Hall
  • Email: hodel@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogeography, population genetics and conservation genetics of neotropical mangroves (Avicennia germinans, Laguncularia racemosa, Rhizophora mangle)
  • Advisor: Douglas Soltis
Sharon HolteSharon Holte
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: sharonholte@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Steadman
Peter HoulihanPeter Houlihan
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 619 Carr Hall
  • Email: phoulihan@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology, Evolutionary processes, Biogeography, Tropical ecosystems and conservation
  • Advisor: Akito Kawahara
Cody HowardCody Howard
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: cchoward@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant Phylogenetics
  • Advisor: Nicoletta Cellinese
Ping HuangPing Huang
Degree Program: Ph.D.
longstrideTongyi Huang
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 310 Carr Hall
  • Email: longstride@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Terrestrial ecosystem dynamics
  • Advisor: Jeremy Lichstein
Lianne JacobsonLianne Jacobson
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: liannejacobson@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Jing JiaoJing Jiao
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: jiao.jing@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Spatial and Theoretical Ecology
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Christopher JohnsChristopher Johns
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: cjohns@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Akito Kawahara
Lindsay Johnson Lindsay Johnson
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: lindsaymjohnson@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Charles Baer
Robert JohnsonRobert Johnson
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 412 Carr Hall
  • Email: johnson.robert@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology of sea turtles, role of sea turtles in new habitats
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
Barry KaminskyBarry Kaminsky
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: 220 Carr Hall
  • Email: barrykaminsky@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecosystem function, ecological genetics, lichens
  • Advisor: Michelle Mack, Stuart McDaniel
John KilmerJohn “Andy” Kilmer
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: kilmerj@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Steadman
Bonnie KircherBonnie Kircher
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: kircherb@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary Developmental Biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Rebecca KollRebecca Koll
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: rebecca.koll@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Palynology and paleobotany
  • Advisor: Steven Manchester
Leslie KollarLeslie Kollar
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: kollarlm@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary genetics
  • Advisor: Stuart McDaniel
Ambuj KumarAmbuj Kumar
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 619 Carr Hall
  • Email: ambuj@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular Dynamics and Evolution
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
jblandisJacob Landis
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: jblandis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Botany
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Alexis LanzaAlexis Lanza
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: Whitney Marine Lab
  • Email: alexislanza@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Larval development in marine invertebrates; environmental effects on development
  • Advisor: Elaine Seaver
Francisca LealFrancisca Leal
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: fleal@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Kelsey LewisKelsey Lewis
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 425F CGRC
  • Email: lewis23a@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary developmental biology, developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Xiaoxian LiuXiaoxian Liu
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: xiaoxianliu@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Douglas Soltis
Blaine MarchantBlaine Marchant
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Simon McClungSimon McClung
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: 510 Carr Hall
  • Email: simon.mcclung@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Forest Ecosystem Ecology
  • Advisor: Michelle Mack
Wenbin MeiWenbin Mei
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: wmei@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Comparative genomics, alternative splicing, phylogenomics
  • Advisor: William Barbazuk
Paula Mejia-VelasquezPaula Mejia-Velasquez
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: pmejia@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Paleobotany and paleopalynology
  • Advisor: Steven Manchester
François MichonneauFrançois Michonneau
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Iwan MolgoIwan Molgo
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Jenna MooreJenna Moore
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 262 Dickinson Hall
  • Email: jmoore@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Polychaete phylogenetics, biodiversity, & systematics
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Ryan Moraski Ryan Moraski
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: ryanmoraski@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant systematics, molecular ecology, biogeography
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Felicity NewellFelicity Newell
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: fnewell@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian ecology, tropical ecology, forest ecology
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Patrick NorbyPatrick Norby
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: pnorby@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Mariela PajueloMariela Pajuelo
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 412 Carr Hall
  • Email: mpajuelo@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Sea turtle migrations & foraging ecology
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
Danielle PalowDanielle Palow
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: dpalow@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Kaoru Kitajima
Photo not availableMatt Palumbo
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 411 Carr Hall
  • Email: mattjp@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant-animal interactions
  • Advisor: Todd Palmer
Akanksha PandeyAkanksha Pandey
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 618 Carr Hall
  • Email: a.pandey@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogenetics
  • Advisor: Edward Braun
Joe PfallerJoe Pfaller
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 609A Carr Hall
  • Email: jpfaller@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology and evolution of rafting crabs; biology and conservation of sea turtles; epibiosis of marine vertebrates
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
John PfeifferJohn Pfeiffer
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: jpfeiffer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution, Biogeography, Freshwater Bivalves
  • Advisor: Larry Page
Catalina PimientoCatalina Pimiento
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Tania Pineda EnriquezTania Pineda Enriquez
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: pinedae@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Jorge PiñoJorge Piño
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: 609A Carr Hall
  • Email: jlpino@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Tropical ecology, neotropical mammalogy and phylogeography
  • Advisor: Steven Phelps
Jerald PinsonJerald Pinson
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: jbp4166@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Fern phylogenetics and systematics
  • Advisor: Emily Sessa
Fan QiuFan Qiu
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 311 Bartram Hall
  • Email: fqiu@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Michael Miyamoto
Anand RoopsindAnand Roopsind
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 511 Bartram Hall
  • Email: aroopsind@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Tropical Forest Management and Conservation
  • Advisor: Francis Putz
Arthur RudolphArthur Rudolph
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: rudolph3@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Nick RuktanonchaiNick Ruktanonchai
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 609 Carr Hall
  • Email: nrukt00@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Smith
Ruslandi RuslandiRuslandi Ruslandi
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 511 Bartram Hall
  • Email: r.ruslandi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Tropical Forest Ecology and Management
  • Advisor: Francis Putz
Photo not availableMiguel Salinas Saavedra
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: mssaavedra@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: _______
Verity SalmonVerity Salmon
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 517 Carr Hall
  • Email: vsalmon@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Edward Schuur
Mark SandfossMark Sandfoss
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 609 Carr Hall
  • Email: mrsandfo@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Herpetology, conservation
  • Advisor: Harvey Lillywhite
Daniel SassonDaniel Sasson
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Kristen SaubyKristen Sauby
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 110 Bartram Hall
  • Email: ksauby@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Robert Holt
Ayush Saxena Ayush Saxena
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: s.ayush@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Charles Baer
Maria Claudia SegoviaMaria Claudia Segovia
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Stein ServickStein Servick
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Philip ShirkPhilip Shirk
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: plshirk@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate responses to anthropogenic changes, herpetology
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
David SimmonsDavid Simmons
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: Whitney Lab
  • Email: davidsim@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental Biology and Nervous System Evolution of Early-branching (non-bilaterian) Animals
  • Advisor: _______
John SlapcinskyJohn Slapcinsky
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Luciano SoaresLuciano Soares
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: lsoares@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Hybridization in sea turtle populations
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
Luis SotoLuis Soto
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: lso2010@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics and Paleobiology
  • Advisor: Bruce MacFadden
Kelly SpeerKelly Speer
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: kspeer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Biogeography of small mammals, host-parasite coevolution, and conservation
  • Advisor: David Reed
John StarmerJohn Starmer
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: jstarmer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Biogeography and biodiversity
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Rebecca StubbsRebecca Stubbs
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Gregory StullGregory Stull
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Lanlan TangLanlan Tang
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 327 Bartram Hall
  • Email: lanlantang@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Stress biology and aging
  • Advisor: Keith Choe
Oscar TarazonaOscar Tarazona
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: otarazona@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Julia Tejada LaraJulia Tejada Lara
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: juvita@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate Paleontology
  • Advisor: Bruce MacFadden
George TileyGeorge Tiley
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 218 Carr Hall
  • Email: gtiley@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular Evolution, Genome Evolution, Computational Phylogenetics
  • Advisor: John Burleigh
Luke Trimmer-SmithLuke Trimmer-Smith
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Scarlett TudorScarlett Tudor
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 611A Bartram Hall
  • Email: studor@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Judit Ungvari-MartinJudit Ungvari-Martin
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Schuyler Van MontfransSchuyler Van Montfrans
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: 412 Carr Hall
  • Email: svanmontfrans@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Marine ecology
  • Advisor: Brian Silliman
Carrie VathCarrie Vath
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: _______
  • Email: cvath@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Primate Ecology, Conservation Biology, and Natural Resource Management
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Clayton VisgerClayton Visger
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: clayton.visger@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Autopolyploidy in Angiosperms
  • Advisor: Doug Soltis
Natasha VitekNatasha Vitek
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 216 Carr Hall
  • Email: nvitek@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Intra-lineage morphological evolution
  • Advisor: Jonathan Bloch
mjw246Mitch Walters
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: mjw246@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology, conservation biology, and ornithology
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Thales WestThales West
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 511 Bartram Hall
  • Email: thales.west@ufl.edu
  • Interests: REDD+, improved forest management
  • Advisor: Francis Putz
Emily WoodruffEmily Woodruff
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: emilywoodruff@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution and development, paleontology, and phylogenetics of mammals.
  • Advisor: Jonathan Bloch, Martin Cohn
Cedric WormanCedric Worman
Degree Program: M.S.
  • Office: 619 Carr Hall
  • Email: apuuli@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Restoration ecology
  • Advisor: Robert Holt
Joni WrightJoni Wright
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: 325 Bartram Hall
  • Email: jwright1855@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
Rosana Zenil-LopezRosana Zenil-Lopez
Degree Program: Ph.D.
Tong ZhangTong Zhang
Degree Program: Ph.D.
  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: tongzhang@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Guard cell redox signaling
  • Advisor: Sixue Chen