Graduate Students

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N

O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Alumni


A

Sarah Allen Sarah Allen
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: sa4393@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Paleobotany
  • Advisor: Steven Manchester
Ian Ausprey Ian Ausprey
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: iausprey@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian ecology, tropical biology, landscape ecology, conservation biology
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Top of page »

B

Meghan Bentz Meghan Bentz
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: mbentz314@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Host-Parasite interactions, behavioral and evolutionary ecology
  • Advisor: Marta Wayne
Gabriela Blohm Gabriela Blohm
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 309 Carr Hall
  • Email: gblohm@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology and Evolution of Virulence
  • Advisor: Jose Miguel Ponciano
Lucas Boatwright Lucas Boatwright
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: lboat@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: William Barbazuk
Anya Brown Anya Brown
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: anyabrown@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Coral reef ecology, community ecology
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Teresa Bryan Teresa Bryan
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Email: kuba@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Reproductive physiology
  • Advisor: Louis Guillette
Top of page »

C

Vincent Cannataro
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 611A Bartram Hall
  • Email: vcannataro@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution, Multicellularity, and Cancer
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Sarah Carey Sarah Carey
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: sarah.carey@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary genetics
  • Advisor: Stuart McDaniel
Nathan Catlin Nathan Catlin
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: ncatlin@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Comparative genomics, phylogenomics, polyploidy
  • Advisor: William Barbazuk
Tania Chavarria Tania Chavarria
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: taniachavarria79@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Zoology
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
Stephanie Cinkovich Stephanie Cinkovich
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 617 Bartram Hall
  • Email: scinkovich@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vector-borne and zoonotic diseases
  • Advisor: Juliet Pulliam
Paul Corogin Paul Corogin
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 385J Dickinson Hall
  • Email: pcorogin@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics of vascular plants; biology of the genus Sideroxylon in North America
  • Advisor: Walter Judd
Tim Crombie
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 123 Bartram Hall
  • Email: tcrombie@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Julian
Andrew Crowl Andrew Crowl
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: andy.crowl@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant phylogenetics and Mediterranean biogeography
  • Advisor: Nicoletta Cellinese
Katrina Cuddy Katrina Cuddy
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: kkcuddy@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Oppenheimer
Top of page »

D

Top of page »

E

Zachary Emberts Zachary Emberts
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: emberts@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Nathaniel Evans Nathaniel Evans
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: evansnat@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary history of marine invertebrates, especially crustaceans. Systematics, biogeography, speciation and morphological evolution
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Top of page »

F

Pauline Fontaine Pauline Fontaine
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 321 Bartram Hall
  • Email: pfontaine@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Animal Biology
  • Advisor: Keith Choe
Top of page »

G

Nicolas Garcia Nicolas Garcia
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: nicogarcia@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Michael Gil Michael Gil
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 620B Bartram Hall
  • Email: m.gil@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Community and landscape ecology, biological conservation
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Juan Pablo Gomez-Echeverri Juan Pablo Gomez-Echeverri
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: jugomez@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Lauren Gonzalez Lauren Gonzalez
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: laurenagonzalez@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogenetics and historical biogeography
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Harlan Gough Harlan Gough
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: goughh@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary biology and population genetics
  • Advisor: David Reed
Marissa Gredler Marissa Gredler
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: mlgredler@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental genetics and morphogenesis
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Travis Guy Travis Guy
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: 411 Carr Hall
  • Email: tguy@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Community ecology, anthropogenic effects on ecosystems, and conservation management
  • Advisor: Todd Palmer
Top of page »

H

Elizabeth Hamman Elizabeth Hamman
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: hamman@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Interactions of stressors, predator prey dynamics, and pattern formation
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Kin-Lan Han Kin-Lan Han
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: hankin@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian phylogenetics, evolution, conservation
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
Arianna Harrington Arianna Harrington
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: aharrington@flmnh.ufl.edu
  • Interests: Paleontology, comparative anatomy, evolutionary morphology
  • Advisor: Jonathan Bloch
Photo not available James “Mike” Heaney
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: jheaney@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Richard Hodel Richard Hodel
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 301B Dickinson Hall
  • Email: hodel@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogeography, population genetics and conservation genetics of neotropical mangroves (Avicennia germinans, Laguncularia racemosa, Rhizophora mangle)
  • Advisor: Douglas Soltis
Sharon Holte Sharon Holte
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: sharonholte@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: David Steadman
Peter Houlihan Peter Houlihan
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 619 Carr Hall
  • Email: phoulihan@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology, Evolutionary processes, Biogeography, Tropical ecosystems and conservation
  • Advisor: Akito Kawahara
Cody Howard Cody Howard
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: cchoward@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant Phylogenetics
  • Advisor: Nicoletta Cellinese
Ping Huang Ping Huang
Degree Program: Ph.D.

longstride Tongyi Huang
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 310 Carr Hall
  • Email: longstride@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Terrestrial ecosystem dynamics
  • Advisor: Jeremy Lichstein
Top of page »

I

Top of page »

J

Lianne Jacobson Lianne Jacobson
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: liannejacobson@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Jing Jiao Jing Jiao
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: jiao.jing@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Spatial and Theoretical Ecology
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
Christopher Johns Christopher Johns
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 510 Carr Hall
  • Email: johns.chris.a@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogenomics, plant-insect interactions, insular biogeography, tropical biodiversity conservation
  • Advisor: Akito Kawahara
Lindsay Johnson
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: 609 Carr Hall
  • Email: lindsaymjohnson@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary and Population Genetics
  • Advisor: Charles Baer
Robert Johnson Robert Johnson
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 412 Carr Hall
  • Email: johnson.robert@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology of sea turtles, role of sea turtles in new habitats
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
Top of page »

K

Leslie Kollar Leslie Kollar
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: kollarlm@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary genetics
  • Advisor: Stuart McDaniel
Barry Kaminsky Barry Kaminsky
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: 220 Carr Hall
  • Email: barrykaminsky@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecosystem function, ecological genetics, lichens
  • Advisor: Michelle Mack, Stuart McDaniel
Bonnie Kircher Bonnie Kircher
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: kircherb@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary Developmental Biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Rebecca Koll Rebecca Koll
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: rebecca.koll@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Palynology and paleobotany
  • Advisor: Steven Manchester
Ambuj Kumar Ambuj Kumar
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 619 Carr Hall
  • Email: ambuj@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular Dynamics and Evolution
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
Top of page »

L

jblandis Jacob Landis
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: jblandis@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Botany
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Alexis Lanza Alexis Lanza
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: Whitney Marine Lab
  • Email: alexislanza@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Larval development in marine invertebrates; environmental effects on development
  • Advisor: Elaine Seaver
Francisca Leal Francisca Leal
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: fleal@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Kelsey Lewis Kelsey Lewis
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 425F CGRC
  • Email: lewis23a@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary developmental biology, developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Xiaoxian Liu Xiaoxian Liu
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: xiaoxianliu@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Douglas Soltis
Top of page »

M

Blaine Marchant Blaine Marchant
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Simon McClung Simon McClung
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: 510 Carr Hall
  • Email: simon.mcclung@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Forest Ecosystem Ecology
  • Advisor: Michelle Mack
Wenbin Mei Wenbin Mei
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: wmei@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Comparative genomics, alternative splicing, phylogenomics
  • Advisor: William Barbazuk
Iwan Molgo Iwan Molgo
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Jenna Moore Jenna Moore
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 262 Dickinson Hall
  • Email: jmoore@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Polychaete phylogenetics, biodiversity, & systematics
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Ryan Moraski Ryan Moraski
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: ryanmoraski@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant systematics, molecular ecology, biogeography
  • Advisor: Pamela Soltis
Top of page »

N

Felicity Newell Felicity Newell
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: fnewell@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Avian ecology, tropical ecology, forest ecology
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Patrick Norby Patrick Norby
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: pnorby@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Top of page »

O

Top of page »

P

Mariela Pajuelo Mariela Pajuelo
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 412 Carr Hall
  • Email: mpajuelo@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Sea turtle migrations & foraging ecology
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
Matt Palumbo
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 411 Carr Hall
  • Email: mattjp@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Plant-animal interactions
  • Advisor: Todd Palmer
Akanksha Pandey Akanksha Pandey
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 618 Carr Hall
  • Email: a.pandey@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Phylogenetics
  • Advisor: Edward Braun
Joe Pfaller Joe Pfaller
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 609A Carr Hall
  • Email: jpfaller@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Ecology and evolution of rafting crabs; biology and conservation of sea turtles; epibiosis of marine vertebrates
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
John Pfeiffer John Pfeiffer
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: jpfeiffer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution, Biogeography, Freshwater Bivalves
  • Advisor: Larry Page
Catalina Pimiento Catalina Pimiento
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Tania Pineda Enriquez Tania Pineda Enriquez
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: pinedae@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Jerald Pinson Jerald Pinson
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: jbp4166@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Fern phylogenetics and systematics
  • Advisor: Emily Sessa
Top of page »

Q

Fan Qiu Fan Qiu
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 311 Bartram Hall
  • Email: fqiu@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Michael Miyamoto
Top of page »

R

Anand Roopsind Anand Roopsind
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 511 Bartram Hall
  • Email: aroopsind@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Tropical Forest Management and Conservation
  • Advisor: Francis Putz
Arthur Rudolph Arthur Rudolph
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: rudolph3@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Ruslandi Ruslandi Ruslandi Ruslandi
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 511 Bartram Hall
  • Email: r.ruslandi@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Tropical Forest Ecology and Management
  • Advisor: Francis Putz
Top of page »

S

Miguel Salinas Saavedra
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Email: mssaavedra@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Experimental Embryology, Evo-Devo and cell biology
  • Advisor: Mark Martindale
Verity Salmon Verity Salmon
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 517 Carr Hall
  • Email: vsalmon@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Edward Schuur
Mark Sandfoss Mark Sandfoss
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 609 Carr Hall
  • Email: mrsandfo@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Herpetology, conservation
  • Advisor: Harvey Lillywhite
Daniel Sasson Daniel Sasson
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Kristen Sauby Kristen Sauby
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 110 Bartram Hall
  • Email: ksauby@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Robert Holt
Ayush Saxena Ayush Saxena
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: _______
  • Email: s.ayush@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Charles Baer
Stein Servick Stein Servick
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Philip Shirk Philip Shirk
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 616 Bartram Hall
  • Email: plshirk@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate responses to anthropogenic changes, herpetology
  • Advisor: Craig Osenberg
David Simmons David Simmons
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: Whitney Laboratory for Marine Bioscience
  • Email: davidsim@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Developmental Biology and Nervous System Evolution of Early-branching (non-bilaterian) Animals
  • Advisor: Mark Q. Martindale
Luciano Soares Luciano Soares
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: lsoares@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Hybridization in sea turtle populations
  • Advisor: Karen Bjorndal
Luis Soto Luis Soto
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: lso2010@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Systematics and Paleobiology
  • Advisor: Bruce MacFadden
Kelly Speer Kelly Speer
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: kspeer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Biogeography of small mammals, host-parasite coevolution, and conservation
  • Advisor: David Reed
John Starmer John Starmer
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: Florida Museum of Natural History
  • Email: jstarmer@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Biogeography and biodiversity
  • Advisor: Gustav Paulay
Rebecca Stubbs Rebecca Stubbs
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Gregory Stull Gregory Stull
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Top of page »

T

Lanlan Tang Lanlan Tang
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 327 Bartram Hall
  • Email: lanlantang@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Stress biology and aging
  • Advisor: Keith Choe
Oscar Tarazona Oscar Tarazona
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: Cancer & Genetics Research Complex
  • Email: otarazona@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
Julia Tejada Lara Julia Tejada Lara
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: juvita@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Vertebrate Paleontology
  • Advisor: Bruce MacFadden
George Tiley George Tiley
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 218 Carr Hall
  • Email: gtiley@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Molecular Evolution, Genome Evolution, Computational Phylogenetics
  • Advisor: John Burleigh
Luke Trimmer-Smith Luke Trimmer-Smith
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Scarlett Tudor Scarlett Tudor
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 611A Bartram Hall
  • Email: studor@ufl.edu
  • Interests: _______
  • Advisor: Colette St. Mary
Top of page »

U

Judit Ungvari-Martin Judit Ungvari-Martin
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Top of page »

V

Schuyler Van Montfrans Schuyler Van Montfrans
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: 412 Carr Hall
  • Email: svanmontfrans@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Marine ecology
  • Advisor: Brian Silliman
Clayton Visger Clayton Visger
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: clayton.visger@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Autopolyploidy in Angiosperms
  • Advisor: Doug Soltis
Natasha Vitek Natasha Vitek
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 216 Dickinson Hall
  • Email: nvitek@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Intra-lineage morphological evolution
  • Advisor: Jonathan Bloch
Top of page »

W

mjw246 Mitch Walters
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: mjw246@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Behavioral ecology, conservation biology, and ornithology
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Emily Woodruff Emily Woodruff
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: FLMNH
  • Email: emilywoodruff@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolution and development, paleontology, and phylogenetics of mammals.
  • Advisor: Jonathan Bloch, Martin Cohn
Joni Wright Joni Wright
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: 318 Carr Hall
  • Email: jwright1855@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Evolutionary Neurophysiology, Physiological Ecology, and Renal Physiology
  • Advisor: Rebecca Kimball
Top of page »

X

Top of page »

Y

Top of page »

Z

Rosana Zenil-Lopez Rosana Zenil-Lopez
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Tong Zhang Tong Zhang
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Office: CGRC
  • Email: tongzhang@ufl.edu
  • Interests: Guard cell redox signaling
  • Advisor: Sixue Chen
Top of page »

 

Graduate Alumni

Nicole Botteri Nicole Botteri
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Interests: Developmental and reproductive physiology
  • Advisor: Louis Guillette
Grant Godden Grant Godden
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Ana Herrera
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Interests: Developmental biology
  • Advisor: Martin Cohn
John Kilmer John “Andy” Kilmer
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Paula Mejia-Velasquez Paula Mejia-Velasquez
Degree Program: Ph.D.

François Michonneau François Michonneau
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Danielle Palow Danielle Palow
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Jorge Piño Jorge Piño
Degree Program: M.S.

  • Interests: Tropical ecology, neotropical mammalogy and phylogeography
  • Advisor: Steven Phelps
Nick Ruktanonchai Nick Ruktanonchai
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Maria Claudia Segovia Maria Claudia Segovia
Degree Program: Ph.D.

John Slapcinsky John Slapcinsky
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Carrie Vath Carrie Vath
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Interests: Primate Ecology, Conservation Biology, and Natural Resource Management
  • Advisor: Scott Robinson
Thales West Thales West
Degree Program: Ph.D.

  • Interests: Payment for environmental services, REDD+
  • Advisor: Francis Putz
Cedric Worman Cedric Worman
Degree Program: Ph.D.

Top of page »